FL, Destin > Deep Sea Fishing Charters
05/22/2019 ~ 05/28/2019
Cart
Cart
FL, Destin > Deep Sea Fishing Charters
05/22/2019 ~ 05/28/2019
Cart

Verified Traveler Reviews

Charter Boat Big Deal

20 reviews
DurationVaries
Ship off on a big, comfortable cruiser with your closest friends and family members on a private fishing adventure...
We take a trip on this boat every year and Capt Steve and Zach never disappoint us! Booking is always easy, we get an email and texted confirmation booking thru Tripshock. On this trip we really wanted to catch some triggerfish so we booked a 6hr morning trip. Parking behind Brotula's was easy and the boat was ready for us to board. Your trips are always half travel time, half fishing time so plan accordingly and think smart about what you want to catch and what's in season. You can go to the myfwc.com website to check out the chart. Anyways, we caught some live bait just out of the pass and then traveled for a bit. We moved fishing spots a few times and it wasn't long before we had our limit of triggerfish, white snapper and mingo snapper. Since we still had some time left, Steve asked if we wanted to catch some "photo worthy fish" so we headed over to a hot spot and caught some nice gag grouper, red snapper and amber jack! We couldn't keep them because they weren't in season but they were super fun to catch and we got some great pics out of it. Steve and Zach are always professional, a ton of fun, and they explain things so you can understand them. We are already planning our trip for the Destin Fishing Rodeo in October!
we had lots of fun! we did really want to fish for different kinds of fish. we werent really looking for fish to eat but to try and catch like a cool fish like a shark or something! but we still had a blast would definitely come and do it again! thank yall so much!
Zach was amazing he helped all of us everytime when being needed, we got to catch some really good fishes. Great experience will recommend this crew to anyone!
from
$660
Highly unsatisfied
about 12 months ago
No deckhand, nothing premade, and then the captain only put 50 gallons of fuel in the boat. We head out to get bait from the bait boat, but no boat around. We had to catch our own bait and after we catch 7 bait fish, he said reel everything in, we have to head to the fish. The surf was a little choppy, but when we all noticed larger and smaller vessels passing us, I knew that this wasn't going to be a good trip. But then when he wants to hook up his Bluetooth to the speakers on the boat and asks me to take the wheel and keep us on course, when I did, I noticed that we were already off course by 15°-20°. From the time we left from getting our very few bait fish, to the time we get to were we start fishing was just about an hour. My brother asked how far out are we and the captain said 16 miles. We all had to bait our own hooks and within 2-3 minutes of us getting our lines in the water, the captain turns the boat and gets everyone's lines tangled up. After everyone gets their lines in and he cuts 3 out of 4 lines, we were told to not put our lines back in the water because we're drifted so far away from the fish. That's when we said that's why we needed a deckhand. After circling around for about 15 minutes, he moved to the next area. After circling that area 3-4 times it was finally time to drop our lines in. Couple of fish caught and it's time to move to the next spot. Circling around again. Couple more fish caught. Time to move again. After a few areas he tells us to reel them in, it's time to start heading back. I looked at my phone and check the time, it was 10:32 AM. 10:35 we are heading back with only 5 red snapper and one small but keeper vermilion snapper. As you can tell, he had no intention of taking us out for grouper. After he cleaned our fish, we almost didn't give him the gratuity because of everything going wrong. But I did. I will never book another trip with Real Deal Charters. This was my first and last time with them. After we get back, I made several attempts to talk with their office, I left 2 messages asking for them to call me back. Still no response.
Rodney S
They are definitely "a big deal"!
about 16 days ago
We take a trip on this boat every year and Capt Steve and Zach never disappoint us! Booking is always easy, we get an email and texted confirmation booking thru Tripshock. On this trip we really wanted to catch some triggerfish so we booked a 6hr morning trip. Parking behind Brotula's was easy and the boat was ready for us to board. Your trips are always half travel time, half fishing time so plan accordingly and think smart about what you want to catch and what's in season. You can go to the myfwc.com website to check out the chart. Anyways, we caught some live bait just out of the pass and then traveled for a bit. We moved fishing spots a few times and it wasn't long before we had our limit of triggerfish, white snapper and mingo snapper. Since we still had some time left, Steve asked if we wanted to catch some "photo worthy fish" so we headed over to a hot spot and caught some nice gag grouper, red snapper and amber jack! We couldn't keep them because they weren't in season but they were super fun to catch and we got some great pics out of it. Steve and Zach are always professional, a ton of fun, and they explain things so you can understand them. We are already planning our trip for the Destin Fishing Rodeo in October!
good fishing
about 10 months ago
we had lots of fun! we did really want to fish for different kinds of fish. we werent really looking for fish to eat but to try and catch like a cool fish like a shark or something! but we still had a blast would definitely come and do it again! thank yall so much!
Tucker T
Awesome trip
about 11 months ago
Zach was amazing he helped all of us everytime when being needed, we got to catch some really good fishes. Great experience will recommend this crew to anyone!
Martin F
BEST DAY ON THE WATER! Do your homework!
about 11 months ago
I spent a lot of time researching boats and companies until I found one that had great reviews in our budget! I read the information on the listings like 12 times, checked facebook to see what's been catching and called Tripshock to ask additional questions. I did my homework so that I knew what I was getting into, I'm a researcher. I like knowing stuff. Even though I have experience fishing in my hometown, I didn't come in with a ton of expectations. Every place you fish and visit is different. The fishing down by the Keys is NOT the same as Destin. Our group is super laid back anyway so it always makes for an easy trip. I have to say, we had the best day on the water! Catching bait was fun, trolling was even better and the deep sea fishing was amazing! Caught our limit on dang near everything! Weather was iffy but it didn't matter bc the fish don't know when it's raining! Thank you to the captain for taking care of us! Our 8 hr trip was worth every penny!!!
Excellent
about 10 days ago
Kelli S
Excellent
about 2 months ago
Caren B
Horrible
about 6 months ago
Melvin S
Horrible deep sea fishing
about 11 months ago
We booked a 4 hour excursion costing more then $700. I brought my 4 year old son who has been begging to go deep sea fishing for 6 months ever since he found out we were going to Florida. I understand that fishing is not guaranteed. I have been on several excursions. In some of them we caught a lot of fish, and others we caught only a couple. This trip we only caught 2, and they were both trash fish. The biggest problem was the captain. He had no interest in being there, and that was obvious. Right off the bat before we even left the dock, he told us if at anytime we wanted to quit he would bring us back. Once we were out there he threw the lines out to catch bait and just left us to try to figure it out. We only caught 3 bait fish. Then we started trolling with lures. After 3 hours he decided to troll with the live bait. That is when we caught the 2 fish. I told him on many occasions I was not concerned with catching big fish I would just like to catch something for my son. I told him we did not anything to keep, we were just there for the experience. I asked if we could try bay fishing or anything else to just try to catch something. He just kept trolling. My issue is that he would not try anything different or communicate with us what was going on or what we could try. He just threw the lines out and trolled. On 3 different occasions he reeled the line in to find out there was no bait or lure left on it. If at the very beginning if he just told us that it was too rough and offered to give us a partial refund I would have been OK with that. The very least he could have done is stopped and said this is what is going on, would you like to try something different. He just trolled and did not interact with us at all, or give us any options. His plan was to go out and do the bare min, get the 4 hours over and drop us off.
Ryan
Paid for one hour fishing and a three hour boat ride
about 11 months ago
Purchased a 4 hour fishing trip. Arrived a half hour early. Captain Zach had the boat ready to go. He told us that we would start by catching some fish for eating and then cut himself off and didn't finish what he was saying. We took about 30 minutes to get to our fishing spot. We bottom-fished with frozen cigar minnows and cut squid; no live bait. There was no deckhand; however everyone in our group was experienced in baiting hooks and removing fish. Zach attempted to help, but he had to keep returning to the steer. We would fish for about 10 minutes and then be told to reel in because we had drifted off our spot. Zach then decided we needed to move somewhere else, so we spent 30 to 40 minutes moving to the east. Once we arrived, it was the same thing: fish for about 10 minutes and then be told to reel in because we had drifted. Around 7pm, Zach told us to reel in. He came down to the deck, removed the bait from our hooks, and put the poles up. He then threw a bucket of chum in the water which led me to believe that we would try for some shark (one of the reasons I had booked the trip). Instead, he returned to the steer and took us back to the boat dock without saying another word. While at the dock, I did notice that several other cleaning stations had some decent catches. I've been on several private charters and have to rank this one as "poor." We spent less than an hour actually fishing and over 3 hours with our poles out of the water. Zach either lacks personality or didn't want to be there. Any questions we asked were responded to with a brief answer and then he would look away. He spent more time taking selfies on his phone while we traveled around he gulf then he did speaking to us. We did catch a few small fish. If the big ones weren't biting, we could've lived with that as long as we were actually out there fishing. If Zach didn't speak a single word, it wouldn't have bothered us one bit as long as we were doing what we wanted to do: fish. Again, I've paid for several private charters in the past, and this is not the "normal" I could never recommend this charter to anyone. I spent over $700 dollars for less than one hour of fishing. Either purchase a cheaper dolphin cruise or book a different fishing charter.
Nathan
Trigger Fish and a good time
about 12 months ago
Boat Captain made maximum effort to try to help us go for a big catch. He did a great job and next time we are in the area we will use the Y’all again. Thanks for the great time.
Raymond C