New Orleans, LA > Plantation Tours
Atlanta, GA
Baton Rouge, LA
Biloxi-Gulfport, MS
Clearwater, FL
Crystal River, FL
Destin, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Myers, FL
Fort Walton Beach-Okaloosa Island, FL
Gatlinburg, TN
Gulf Shores-Orange Beach, AL
Hilton Head, SC
Islamorada, FL
Jackson, WY
Key Largo, FL
Key West, FL
Lafayette, LA
Marco Island, FL
Maui, HI
Miami, FL
Milton, FL
Miramar Beach-Sandestin Area, FL
Mobile, AL
Murrells Inlet, SC
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nashville, TN
New Orleans, LA
New York, NY
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Ocean Springs, MS
Orlando, FL
Panama City Beach, FL
Pensacola Beach-Navarre, FL
Perdido Key, FL
Pigeon Forge, TN
Santa Rosa Beach-30A, FL
Savannah, GA
St. Augustine, FL
St. Petersburg-St. Pete Beach, FL
Tampa, FL
Washington, DC
All activities
Airboat Tours
Alligator Tours
Animal Encounters
Aquariums
Bayou & Swamp Tours
Bike Tours
Bird Watching Tours
Boat Tours
Bus Tours
Carriage Rides & Tours
Cemetery Tours
City Tours
Cooking Classes
Day Trips & Excursions
Dinner Cruises
Dolphin Cruises & Tours
Eco Tours
Escape Room
Fine Dining
Food Tours
Ghost Tours
Gift Certificates
Kayak Rentals
Kayak Tours
Kid Friendly Restaurants
Laser Tag
Local Transfers
Lunch Cruises
Movie Tours
Museums
Night Life
Performance Entertainment
Photo Tours
Plantation Tours
Pub Crawls
Restaurants
Scavenger Hunt
Science Center
Segway Tours
Sunset Cruises
Tourist Attractions
VIP Private Tours
Voodoo Tours
Walking Tours
Waterparks
Yacht Charters
Ziplining
Zoo
12/02/2020 ~ 12/07/2020
December 2020
Su
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Verified Traveler Reviews

Reviews of Houmas House Plantation & Gardens w/ Guided Tour

Houmas House Plantation & Gardens w/ Guided Tour

Houmas House Plantation & Gardens w/ Guided Tour

20 ratings
SAVE 10% W/ CODE PLANT13!
Once you've visited Houmas House Plantation and Gardens in person, you'll know why it is called "The Crown Jewel of...
The tour was amazing, the tour guide was super friendly and he was very knowledgable about the property and the vast history of the home. He made it fun and enjoyable for everyone in the group!
This was my second time visiting Houmas House and it was even better than the last! We decided to start with lunch first at Cafe Burnside and omg it was incredible. The buffet is worth every single penny! The fried catfish was literally the best I've ever had and the bread pudding should have some kind of award! After we stuffed ourselves silly, we met up with our tour guide, Suzanna. She rang the bell and started our tour off with a bang! When you enter the house, it's like hearing that "AAAAAaaaaaaAHHHHHH" theme music. It's so gorgeous inside. I love all the stories that are told about the home and its' antiques, art and artifacts. Esp the vampire slayer kit from anne rice! This home is handicap accessible as well as are the grounds. The grounds actually remind me of a botanical garden. Go check this place out and ask for Suzanna as your tour guide, you won't be disappointed!
Our tour guide was awesome. I think her name was Sue Ellen, Bobby Sue, or something like that. Super knowledgable, super friendly, made the whole experience come to life for my wife and i. Thank you for a great experience.
from
$24
Experience Today

Houmas House and Garden

about 1 year ago
The tour was amazing, the tour guide was super friendly and he was very knowledgable about the property and the vast history of the home. He made it fun and enjoyable for everyone in the group!
Steven G

Suzanna was a great guide and the food was incredible!

about 1 year ago
This was my second time visiting Houmas House and it was even better than the last! We decided to start with lunch first at Cafe Burnside and omg it was incredible. The buffet is worth every single penny! The fried catfish was literally the best I've ever had and the bread pudding should have some kind of award! After we stuffed ourselves silly, we met up with our tour guide, Suzanna. She rang the bell and started our tour off with a bang! When you enter the house, it's like hearing that "AAAAAaaaaaaAHHHHHH" theme music. It's so gorgeous inside. I love all the stories that are told about the home and its' antiques, art and artifacts. Esp the vampire slayer kit from anne rice! This home is handicap accessible as well as are the grounds. The grounds actually remind me of a botanical garden. Go check this place out and ask for Suzanna as your tour guide, you won't be disappointed!

Great tour ... great guide!!!

about 1 year ago
Our tour guide was awesome. I think her name was Sue Ellen, Bobby Sue, or something like that. Super knowledgable, super friendly, made the whole experience come to life for my wife and i. Thank you for a great experience.
Thomas D

Houmas House Tour

about 1 year ago
Very interesting place. Very beautiful house and gardens.
Heather E

Sugar Palace

about 1 year ago
This Tour was amazing! The house was beautiful! Our guide was very knowledgeable. The grounds were glorious. I
Julia G

Plantation tour

about 1 year ago
Wonder excursion
diane m

Beautiful!

about 2 years ago
Gorgeous gardens and home. A little pricey and they make it very obvious that you are expected to tip the tour guide at the end, but overall worth the money.
Whitney

The grounds are gorgeous and the bread pudding is amazing!

about 2 years ago
When you arrive you will notice there is quite a bit of construction at the front entrance. They are adding a new museum to the property! Check in was easy and inside the gift shop. The tour starting point is a short walk from the gift shop where you check in. The guides are dressed in period costumes which really adds to the ambience of the tour. Our guide, Stephanie was very funny and great at telling the history of the home and grounds. She had tons of information about the furniture, art, family members... Stephanie was really wonderful. This is the only plantation that has an elevator to the second floor of the home. If you have someone in your party that is wheelchair bound, they will be pleasantly surprised to discover they don't have to miss the second part of the tour! The rooms and grounds are just exquisite. It's like being in a botanical garden. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and helpful. SAVE ROOM FOR THE BUFFET! You can't miss having lunch here. The food was some of the best I have had in Louisiana and the bread pudding is outstanding. I won't mention how many plates I had, it's embarrassing so I def recommend wearing stretchy pants if you eat here. Our server, Lauren was great at suggesting drinks and very attentive. If you visit and have time, you could easily spend 4-5 hours here and enjoy every second!

Picturesque

about 2 years ago
Houmas house is probably my most favorite of all the plantations I have seen so far. Once you pull up, it doesn't look that grand (partly because there's construction for a museum addition) but trust me, it gets better! You walk into the large gift shop and you have the option to watch a short video about how the plantation came about and the owners, etc. As you start the tour, you're instantly looking at a beautiful pond. As you take the pathway to the home, it's like walking through a magical garden with various statues and fountains. You can tell they care a lot about their grounds and keep them very maintained. It's very picturesque with the beautiful oak trees and gardens with the magnificent home in the background. Inside the home is just as beautiful. As soon as you walk in you see the lovely painted walls and ceilings. The tour guide walks you through each room, and is very friendly and informative. The home is filled with some of the most amazing antiques, art, and collectibles. The owner still lives in the house, and supposedly he was there but we never saw him and I think it's very cool he's still letting people come and visit such a beautiful part of Louisiana history. Oh, and the food at the Cafe Burnside was delicious! Some of the best bread pudding I've ever had!

Absolutely Beautiful

about 2 years ago
This plantation is absolutely beautiful starting at the entrance to the parking lot all the way through the entire grounds. Our tour guide Susan was wonderful. She really knew the history of the house and was easy to follow. I learned a lot and really enjoyed my tour with her. The owner even allows his personal rooms to be toured and are just as rich with history as every other corner of the house. They also actually let you touch and sit which is very unique. Susan invited anyone who could play piano to take a seat and play! Afterwards we ate lunch at their on site restaurant which was hands down the best food I think I've ever had. I had the bisque and the bourbon shrimp. The others I was with had different options and no one had a single bad thing to say!! The grounds were absolutely beautiful and managed by the same artist for many years. The gardens and trees were absolutely breath taking. I will be bringing my husband back to see this as it was the highlight of my trip!