Verified Traveler Reviews

Reviews of New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

awesome time!
My group of 9 went on the New Orleans cocktail tour a couple days ago for a bachelorette party. We had the BEST experience! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and kept it really fun. I also feel like I learned a lot and tried some fun drinks that I otherwise would not have tried! Would highly recommend!
Nicole S.
about 7 years ago
Best way to learn the bar and Restaurant Culture of New Orleans
Fantastic. Our tour Guide was awesome. She was very informative about the history of new Orleans and went into great detail about the Culture of the Bar and Restaurants that we visited. Great way to learn the history of New Orleans ... fun ..fun...fun
CAROL S.
about 7 years ago
The Walking
The walk was ok but I felt like if it is a cocktail walking tour would should have gotten a sample instead of paying for every drink. I think you should let us sample and if we would like to purchase the drink of our choice. It's really a rip off when you could do the tour yourself.
Bonita H.
about 7 years ago
Recommended
Our 4:00pm guide was energetic, knowledgable and he was fun so it was a great experience & the drink locations were great choices in our opinion (and it helped familiarize us with the area- It was our first trip to NOLA). The other nice thing about New Orleans is that if you don't finish your drink, you can have it poured into a plastic to-go cup and legally drink it walking down the street! The last stop ends near where the tour started and the tour guide leaves you there to take as much time as you want to sit at the bar and sip your cocktail or order a second. We generally drink craft beer but we were very happy with this tour.
Justin F.
about 12 years ago
Great tour!!
Midge was the best. We had a great tour and learned a lot about the city. We even found some places to eat that Midge pointed out.
Perry G.
about 8 years ago
I loved this tour!
We had some excellent cocktails! The guide was entertaining and did a great job capturing the excitement of the city. We also got to learn some detailed history about the city and the historical bars and restaurants we visited. I definitely recommend!
Abby F.
about 9 years ago
Great start to the weekend!
Tripshock was very diligent in providing us updates and reminding us of our reservation for the tour. The tour itself was very fun and educational without being too scripted. Our tour guide made sure we had time to visit 4 bars during our 2.5 hr tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone who loves history mixed with cocktails along the way.
Canh-Lien N.
about 10 years ago
Great History Lesson!
Great tour! Interesting historical view of New Orleans bars. Would defintely recommend, a highlight of our trip.
florence p.
about 9 years ago
Grayline cocktail walking tour.
Our tour guide, Joe, was excellent! He told us a lot of history and took us to fun bars. This cocktail tour was great.
Paula G.
about 6 years ago
Just ok
Our tour guide was a really nice guy and shared interesting facts. He only took us to 3 places, all were good, but our group would have enjoyed a more classic bar tour with more stops.
Stephanie K.
about 5 years ago
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!
We were very disappointed that we did not get to sample any of the 'signature cocktails' at the 4 stops on the tour. I contacted Trip Shock the morning after our vacation and they 'updated their website to prevent further confusion' as I was discussing it with them. Most of us on the tour thought that at least a sample was included, to see if you liked the cocktails before purchasing one (between $8 to $20 per our tour leader) but she was adamant that it was never advertised that way. We were also disappointed with her history delivery. One couple left at the first stop and 2 others, including us, left before entering the 4th one. Now that you are properly informed, wishing you a better experience than ours! In response to the Management posting: I kept a copy of what the website looked like prior to their changes. I did not say I expected free cocktails, only to 'sample' the cocktails as mentioned. Also, I believe their description needs to include that you visit 4 bars -- not restaurants. I hope this clarifies why we were so dissatisfied. The rest of our New Orleans vacation was fabulous!
SALLY F.
about 9 years ago
You must do this tour!
Elizabeth was a wonderful tour guide! Full of knowledge, funny, and took us to places we would not have gone without knowing the history behind them. We would do another tour with her!
Angela L.
about 4 years ago
Fantastic experience
Brian was extremely knowledgeable with the history of New Orleans and super fun too! My group was so fun and intrigued by his fun facts. The tour itself was excellent. We walked to different bars in the neighborhood and experienced the cocktails that each bar featured. We will definitely do this again if and when we come back! Great job, Brian!
Samantha Y.
about 4 years ago
History & Booze....can't get better than that!!!
Tour with Brian was wonderful!! Brian had lots of information and was very entertaining :) We enjoyed the history as well as the recommended drinks!!!
Julia M.
about 7 years ago
Great for first timers!
We liked the fact that the guide gave us some great insight on the different bars in New Orleans and their historical significance. I would recommend this tour if you are new to the city and want a "lay of the land".
June C.
about 10 years ago
Cocktail tour with Sandy
While in New Orleans my friend and I participated in the Cocktail Walking Tour with Sandy Smith. We had a fabulous time. We got to see some very fine establishments; learn some history of New Orleans; learn more about Mardi Gras and taste fabulous cocktails. The pace of the tour was perfect. Sandy knew a lot about the city and its history and was a lot of fun to spend time with.
Darlene D.
about 8 years ago
HORRIBLE tour guide...
I picked this tour specifically vs going with Dr. Gumbo Tours because this one didn't include all the drinks like most of the other cocktail/drinking walking tours do. My mother doesn't drink so I didn't feel it would be worth the price of $60 plus to go with a tour that included a drink at every stop. With this specific cocktail tour you had the option to buy a drink at each stop and you received one drink complimentary before the tour starts. Our tour guide was Joe and the other guy that was there at the beginning was Brian...First let me start out by saying we were originally a group of 6 and had one tour guide. They tell you to be at least 30 minutes early to the meeting location. Everyone was there 30 minutes prior except the tour guide, who got there exactly at the start time of the tour at 4pm. Around 4:15pm 5 young ladies decide they want to be included in the tour and go to the window to pay for their tickets. They took almost 45 minutes to pay and get situated while the remaining parties sat around and waited. The tour guide complained the entire time that it was too busy to do this tour because of how busy the city was and that the company he works for shouldn't have allowed tours on this day. My second big problem with this guy was we were already an hour late leaving for our 2.5 hour walking tour and at one of our stops a few off these young ladies in the group decided they were hungry and wanted to grab some pizza. Tour guide said oh yeah sure go ahead we have plenty of time, so they left while myself, my mother and a few others just waited while they got their food. He took a smoke break and it was like no big deal at all. Third, he advised us after only two stops he had to let us go because he had to met up with another tour he was doing. We only went to three places and got no history of any of them, it was you can buy this or this drink and thats it. Lastly and the most funniest part, not only was this guy kinda of sloppy but his pants zipper was down, he smelled like smoke and he was just unprofessional overall. I would NOT recommend this tour off course because of the experience we had. There were two guides working this evening and they were grumpy, unhappy and complaining the entire time. Better off paying a bit more and going with Dr. Gumbo Tours for the cocktail walking tour :)
PAIGE T.
about 6 years ago
Perfect tour with Joe
This was our fourth cocktail tour and we learn more history each time. We went to 4 bars( 2 for first time). Joe was our excellent guide. He is so much fun and knowledgeable about all the history and cocktails.
Bradley T.
about 5 years ago
Fun history of New Orleans
I'm very happy with this tour. I don't remember our guides name, but you can tell he loved his job and was very passionate about the city. It's a little cold right now so be sure to dress appropriately .
Bill R.
about 9 years ago
Too much fun!!
We had a blast on our New Orleans Original walking cocktail tour with THE Joe Gendusa as our guide! He is fun, funny, an amazing historian who loves this city and all of the Quarter seems to know and love Joe! Depending on your drinking skills, it may be a good idea to share cocktails at the stops...
Jo s.
about 9 years ago
Cocktails Unlimited
Once a teacher always a teacher. That describes our outstanding tour guide. He did just what we wanted and more. With a great personality and personal relationships with the establishments he took us on a historic walk to the private/exclusive back rooms as he described the origins and cultural backgrounds that formed the stories of iconic bars and drinks.
WILLIAM H.
about 7 years ago
Fantastic!
This flavorful tour takes you around the French Quarter for history on cocktails and restaurants. Seriously, Sandi was such a phenomenal tour guide! I had so much fun!! Highly recommend this tour!
River S.
about 8 years ago
Awesome!
Sandi did an awesome job and we truly loved hearing about New Orleans from a natives perspective. She was a ton of fun.
Kristie O.
about 6 years ago
Cocktail tour
Great tour. Drinks were a pay as you go.but were discounted.
Susie S.
about 10 years ago

Destinations

© 2024 Tripshock
This website uses cookies. Please visit our Privacy Policy to learn how we use cookies and how to control your cookie settings. By clicking or navigating this site you consent to our use of cookies.