Verified Traveler Reviews

Reviews of Oak Alley Plantation Guided Tour With Transportation From The French Quarter

Oak Lane Experience
We enjoyed the trip! It’s an excellent choice to get out of the madness with f the French Quarters! The tour guy was excellent and knowledgeable. He even showed us the other plantations around the area.
Johanna G.
about 2 years ago
Plantation Tour updated and corrected.
The tour at Oak Alley has significantly improved. It now looks at all the residents of the plantation. The last time I came slaves or slavery were not mentioned. Now they have built 8 slave cabins with lots of information and replicas. The house tour includes information about the slaves.
Katherine K.
about 6 years ago
Oak Alley Plantation Tour
Alton was a wonderful driver. He was funny and very informative. Aton = 5 stars!
Karen L.
about 2 years ago
Mrs
Beautiful place, very interesting. Recommend to see
Krystyna C.
about 6 years ago
Excellent
The guide Mary was great! Informative Driver was excellent as well
Donna F.
about 5 years ago
Worth the trip
The tour is worth it. Beautiful area, lots of history and you are able to do it at your own pace. Our guide was really nice and knowledgeable.
Sarah N.
about 6 years ago
A historical gem
America has some unfortunate histories associated with enslavement and oppression, but the Oak Alley plantation tour guides were quite respectful as they shared their knowledge of this controversial time period. The architectural restorations of the beautiful Oak Alley home to the simple slave dwellings are incredible. The oaks are massive and picturesque. Our bus guide, Daniel, is a native to New Orleans, and his historical knowledge and enthusiasm made the trip extra special. Our bus driver, Aldo, was super too. If you're ever in New Orleans, make time for this trip. They have a restaurant on location, which is not the case with other plantation tours. You won't regret the experience.
Brenda R.
about 7 years ago
Fine
Had been led to believe that there was wheelchair service with Grayline for this trip based on chat with Tripshock service rep. Also called Grayline directly and told the same. Was not the case. My husband had to climb steps into the bus--extremely difficult for him. I applaud the bus driver for all his help in getting him on the bus despite this and off back in his wheelchair so that we could take the tour. I would rate higher if it weren't for this. Very stressful.
Catherine D.
about 5 years ago
Jude, the driver/guide was great
Very entertaining and informative best describe Jude. He made what could have been a boring bus ride an enjoyable time. Oak Alley is a must see, our guide had actually played there as a child so she was great and informative as well
Cynthia M.
about 6 years ago
Oak Alley
Very moving and educational
John D.
about 2 years ago
It was very disappointing because they didn't give us enough to look around
We had no time to look around the grounds only had a tour of the house. We should be entitled to a partial refund
Elieen P.
about 7 years ago
Journey Back in Time
Tour the grand house and grounds of Oak Alley. Definitely worth your time and money.
Shannon H.
about 7 years ago
Plantation tour
We enjoyed this tour very much our driver and tour guide Were great. The tour guy gave lots of great information. I only wish we had booked the longer to her and seen more plantations. I would definitely recommend.
Patrice L.
about 6 years ago
Excellent
Excellent tour very knowledgeable of history
John P.
about 5 years ago
Great time!
This was a great tour experience! It is true that the time at the plantation is a bit rushed, but if you are efficient, it is great. Oak Alley itself is beautiful and my group chose to wander the salve quarters (self-guided tour) as well. We learned a lot and had a fun time.
Asha F.
about 9 years ago
Oak Alkey Plantation Tour
Overall our trip was Great.The bus driver was a tour guide so this made our ride to the Plantation fly by. We learned so much about new Orleans from him. So pleased that we took this tour..
Anne L.
about 1 year ago
Oak Alley Plantation Tour
It was a great experience, and our tour guide was super knowledgeable and fun/funny! I highly recommend this service to take an excursion in New Orleans!! Thank you!
Leigh S.
about 2 years ago
Oak Alley Plantation
It was an interesting tour of the plantation. The bus host was extremely informative and added a great deal to the overall experience. Only thing was that the bus window in front of our seats was loose and rattled the entire ride to and from the plantation.
Melissa R.
about 5 years ago
Oak Alley
It was a lovely tour and beautiful grounds. The history of it was sad but a must see.
Adriana W.
about 6 years ago
It was Good!
Engaging driver - great property!!
Athol g.
about 7 years ago
Rattling Coach, disinterested driver.
The old bus with noisy air conditioning rattled wearily to our destination and the return trip was worse, pothole jumping lifting us out of our seats several times. The driver was honest about having no interest in being a tour guide (or not allowed, I could not hear him all that well because the sound was not great, or affected by the noisy yet amazingly ineffective air conditioner. We did get delivered at destination and very nearly at drop off point (road repair affecting that so not blaming driver). So, please retire that bus. Other people paying the same had a much better experience with other busses and companies. The driver did not really work for me but if you want to be left to your own thoughts as you desperately cling to your seat, he might work for you.
Anette C.
about 2 years ago
Oak Alley Tour
Kendrell was a great chauffeur on Gray Line Bus. Very personable. He did well dealing with A/C failure & accommodating the passengers. 2 hours is not enough time to see ever at the plantation, that was disappointing.
Susan M.
about 2 years ago
Oak Alley
Oak Alley Plantation was really cool! Super old house with a lot going on! Tour guides are very knowledgeable! The trees lining the walk way are magnificent! About 400 years old! They have slave houses set up like they used to be. Definitely a must see!
Kacie W.
about 6 years ago
Oak Alley is Great Tour.
Really great, knowledgeable tour guide/driver. Beautiful plantation with gorgeous trees and interesting.history. Restaurant and gift shop near plantation. Golf carts available for those with limited mobility.
Melody R.
about 6 years ago

Destinations

© 2024 Tripshock
This website uses cookies. Please visit our Privacy Policy to learn how we use cookies and how to control your cookie settings. By clicking or navigating this site you consent to our use of cookies.