Miami Jet Ski/Waverunner Rentals

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Is there a deposit required?

Please be sure to review your TripShock voucher and the restrictions at time of booking, as this information will be noted. Most jet ski rental companies in Miami, however, do require a $200 refundable damage deposit per jet ski.

2. Do I need a boaters license?

Those born before January 1, 1988 can operate a jet ski with a valid driver’s license. Those born on or after that date will need to take a Florida boaters test. These tests take 30 minutes to an hour to complete. Some rental companies will have them on site for a small fee, so you will want to arrive early to your rental. Other companies, however, do not offer this. In this case, licenses are available online at Please be sure to review the restrictions prior to booking and be prepared!

3. Is there a weight limit?

The weight limit per jet ski is typically between 350 and 400 pounds. Please be sure to review the restrictions before booking, as it will let you know the weight limits for that specific rental company.

4. How old do you have to be to drive?

Florida state law requires drivers of any personal watercraft to be at least 16 years old with a valid driver’s license. Anyone under 18, however, must have a parent or legal guardian present to sign any paperwork.

5. Is there an age limit?

Aside from the restrictions when it comes to driving, there are also limits when it comes to riding a jet ski, as well. Most rental companies will not allow children under 6 years old to ride on a jet ski.


© 2024 Tripshock
This website uses cookies. Please visit our Privacy Policy to learn how we use cookies and how to control your cookie settings. By clicking or navigating this site you consent to our use of cookies.